top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMarylin Furumasu

What Do These Have in Common?

You might ask, what do hummingbirds, butterflies, a toddler, and I

have in common?

They all flitter around, they almost never stay still, and they all want something. Well, these images have been sitting on my mind for a few weeks now. So, I’ll share with you what God has been saying to me.

Have you ever taken the time to think about your approach to God and your prayer life?

Do you flutter in asking God for this and that, then flutter out?

Do you constantly say, “Daddy, daddy can I have this or that?” Running around in circles never really settling down to hear what he has to say.

We’ve all been there or seen that.

Sometimes it’s cute with a toddler, but really, God just wants us to STOP, take a minute and sit with Him.

Come before His throne with calm praise and worship. Spend time with Him as He shares with us all His wisdom and love.

Exodus 14:14 says it so plainly.

“The Lord will fight for you; you need only to be still.” (NIV)

We may not be facing an army like the Israelites, but the concept of sitting and being still knowing God’s got this is one that we often need to remember.

Or in Psalm 46:10

“He says, “Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.” (NIV)

We need to cease striving and just be still. Standing before the Almighty God, reverently honoring Him.

Or my favorite, Revelation 3:20

“Here I am! I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with that person, and they with me.” (NIV)

Don’t be too busy with our own lives to miss His knocking on our heart’s door. Because so often we try to fill our hearts with things that are temporary and not what He wants to give us.

Let Him in because He wants to give us hope for a future and peace for our days.

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page